Leadership Citation

CSSP confers its Citation for Leadership and Achievement to honor individuals who merit special recognition for outstanding achievements in the last year in support of scientific research.

Past recipients include:

  • 2022: Lisa Schulte Moore, Iowa State University
  • 2020: Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE), Johns Hopkins University
    Institute for Health Metrics & Evaluation (IHME), University of Washington
  • 2018: France Córdova, Director, National Science Foundation
  • 2016: Francis Collins, National Institutes of Health
  • 2015: Peter Gleick, Pacific Institute
  • 2014: Clayton Christensen, Harvard Business School
  • 2012: Fred Kavli, Chairman and Founder, The Kavli Foundation
    Charles Vest, President, National Academy of Engineering
  • 2011: Lisa Jackson, Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
  • 2008: John Warner, Director, Univ. of Mass – Center for Green Chemistry
    Paul Anastas, Director, Yale University – Center for Green Chemistry & Engineering
  • 2007: Bart Gordon, Chair, House Science and Technology Committee
  • 2006: James Hansen, Director, Goddard Inst., NASA
  • 2005: Rep. Frank Wolf (R-VA), Chair, Indep. Agencies Appropriations
    Melendy Lovett, Senior VP, Texas Instruments
  • 2004: Joseph Jen, Undersecretary, USDA
  • 2003: Norman Neureiter, Science Advisor to Secretary of State
    Charles Savitt, Island Press
  • 2002: Jane Lubchenco, President, ICSU
  • 2000: Harold Shapiro, President, Princeton University
    Alfred Berkeley, III, Board Vice Chairman, NASDAQ
  • 1999: Mary Woolley, President, Research!America
  • 1998: John Elter, Vice President, Xerox
  • 1997: Pete V. Domenici, Chair, Senate Budget Committee
  • 1996: Norman Augustine, CEO, Lockheed-Martin Corporation
    Vernon Ehlers, Vice Chair, House Science Committee
    Daniel Goldin, Administrator, NASA