Our Executive Board

WASHINGTON, DC. – The Council of Scientific Society Presidents has announced that Dr. Lisa Keefe has been elected Chair of the Executive Board, effective January 1, 2021. Dr. Keefe is Vice President for Advancing Therapeutics at the Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute (HWI) in Buffalo, NY, and Director of the Industrial Macromolecular Crystallography Association – Collaborative Access Team (IMCA-CAT) located at the Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory in Illinois.  At IMCA-CAT, her work is aimed at implementing state-of-the-art technology and innovative approaches at the macromolecular crystallography beamline in order to leverage the power of synchrotron radiation for structure-based drug design. Through her leadership, IMCA-CAT has developed into a world-class research facility for the pharmaceutical industry.  Dr. Keefe is an active member of the American Crystallographic Association, serving on Council as Past President (2019), President (2018), Vice President (2017), and Secretary (2003-2008). 

Also elected to the Executive Board as Chair-Elect is Dr. Michael A. Grusak, Agricultural Research Service scientist and the Center Director of the Edward T. Schafer Agricultural Research Center in Fargo, North Dakota. He leads a program consisting of five research units where scientists encompass expertise ranging from crop plants to insects to food safety. The Center’s broad mission is to solve problems that will help farmers produce a safe, nutritious, and sustainable food supply.  Grusak will serve as Chair of the Awards Nomination Committee in 2021 and as CSSP Board Chair in 2022.  Other members of the 2021 Board include Past Chair Malcolm Butler, Secretary Patricia Simmons, and Treasurer Joseph Ferrara.  Members at large are John Downing, Lucinda Johnson, Jennifer Tank, April Ulery, Alumni member Sharon Mosher, Ethics/Legal Advisor Haskell Pitluck, and President Emeritus Martin A. Apple.

The Council of Scientific Society Presidents is a unique organization representing the breadth of science and engineering research disciplines through its member societies and federations. CSSP member societies are represented by their presidents, presidents-elect, and recent past presidents of leading scientific societies and federations whose combined membership is over a million.

Founded in 1973, CSSP has served as a center for national science leadership development, a strong voice in support of science, and the premier forum for national science policy development and open, substantive exchanges on current issues encompassing the full spectrum of science, engineering, and mathematics. CSSP is committed to “Advancing Leadership in Science and Technology” and to establishing policies and programs that will ensure a bright future for 21st century science.

Lisa Keefe
American Crystallographic Association
Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute

Michael A. Grusak
Crop Science Society of America
USDA, Agricultural Research Service

Malcolm Butler
Association for Science Teacher Education
University of Central Florida

Patricia Simmons
American Association for the Advancement of Science
National Science Teaching Association

Joseph Ferrara
American Crystallographic Association
Rigaku Americas Corp


John Downing
Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography
Minnesota Sea Grant

Lucinda Johnson
Society for Freshwater Science
University of Minnesota-Duluth

Jennifer Tank
Society for Freshwater Science
University of Notre Dame

April Ulery
Soil Science Society of America
New Mexico State University

Ethics/Legal Advisor
Hon. Haskell Pitluck (Ret)
American Academy of Forensic Sciences

Director of R&D; President Emeritus
Martin Apple
American Institute of Chemists

Alumni Member
Sharon Mosher
American Geosciences Institute
The University of Texas at Austin

Executive Director
Cindy Paska