Support of Science Award

Each year, CSSP confers its award for Support of Science to honor an individual who merits recognition for outstanding and dedicated support of US science, open scientific communication, and support of basic research.

Past recipients include:

  • 2021: Craig N. McLean, Acting Chief Scientist, Assistant Administrator, Oceanic and Atmospheric Research, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • 2019: Susan Collins, Senator from Maine
  • 2016: Marcia McNutt, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2016: John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology, and Co-Chair of the President’s Council of Science and Technology Policy.
  • 2014: President Barack Obama
  • 2013: Alan Leshner, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2010: The Gordon Research Conferences
  • 2009: Paula Dobriansky, Undersecretary (ret), State Department
  • 2008: Craig Barrett, Chairman, Intel Corporation
  • 2007: Arden Bement, Director, National Science Foundation
  • 2006: Norman Borlaug, CIMMYT
  • 2005: Sherwood Boehlert, Chair, House Science Committee
  • 2004: Don Kennedy, Editor-in-Chief, Science
  • 2003: Christopher “Kit” Bond, Chair, Senate Independent Agencies Appropriations Committee
  • 2002: Martin A. Apple, President, CSSP
  • 2001: Bruce Alberts, President, National Academy of Sciences
  • 2000: Bill Frist, MD, Chair, Senate Science Caucus
    Neal Lane, Director, OSTP, White House
  • 1999: Dudley R. Herschbach, Baird Professor, Harvard
  • 1998: F. Sherwood Rowland, University of California, Irvine
  • 1997: Norman Augustine, CEO, Lockheed-Martin Corporation
  • 1996: Mary L. Good, Undersecretary for Technology, US Dept of Commerce
  • 1995: Philip H. Abelson, Editor-in-Chief (ret), Science
  • 1994: M.R.C. Greenwood, Assoc. Director, OSTP, White House
  • 1993: Maxine Singer, President, Carnegie Foundation
  • 1992: D. Allen Bromley, Director, OSTP, White House
  • 1991: George E. Brown, Chair, House Committee on Science, Space and Technology
  • 1990: Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden
  • 1989: C. Everett Koop, US Surgeon General
  • 1988: Roland W. Schmitt, Chair, National Science Board
  • 1987: William Cary, Executive Officer, AAAS
  • 1986: Erich Boch, Director, National Science Foundation
  • 1985: George Keyworth, Science Advisor to the President
  • 1984: Frank Press, President, National Academy of Sciences
  • 1983: Don Fuqua, Chairman, House Committee on Science and Technology