Theme: The Future of Scientific Leaders, Science Research and Science

All sessions will be held in Marvel Halls in the American Chemical Society (ACS) Hach Building, 1155 16th Street, NW, Washington, DC. Agenda is subject to change.

Saturday, 7 December 2019

CSSP Executive Board Meeting 9:00 am-12:00 pm
Leadership Primer for Interested Presidents
JOHN DOWNING, Director of Minnesota Sea Grant, University of Minnesota Duluth; Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography
9:00 am-12:00 pm
CSSP Board of Directors Lunch 12:00-1:00 pm
Attendee Registration 12:00-1:00 pm
CSSP Meeting Opening and Welcome
, CSSP Board Chair,
Committee Process Information
Self-Introductions of Attendees
1:00-2:00 pm
Session One – State of the Union in Science 2:00-5:30 pm
JENNIFER ORME-ZAVELETA - Principal Deputy Assistant Administrator for Science, Office of Research and Development, US Environmental Protection Agency. The global view of science in the US and emerging issues of future scientific concern 2:00-3:15 pm
Break 3:15-3:45 pm
Panel: The Future of Science and Scientific Leaders in the US
New Voices in Science, Increasing Challenges to U.S. Scientific Leadership, the impact of technology to the future of science.

TOBIN SMITH, Vice President for Policy, AAU and Co-chair for Benchmarks 2019: Second Place America? Increasing Challenges to U.S. Scientific Leadership report, released May 2019
MICHAEL LUBELL - Mark W. Zemansky Professor of Physics, CCNY and author of Navigating the Maze: How Science and Technology Policies Shape America and the World
ALI NOURI, President, Federation of American Scientists and co-chair NASEM New Voices network
LISA KEEFE - Vice President for Advancing Therapeutics, Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute - MODERATOR

3:45-5:00 pm
Award presentation: VICENTE TALANQUER, Distinguished Professor, University of Arizona, will be presented the CSSP Educational Research Award 5:00-5:30 pm
Opening Reception (Othmer Hall)
Dinner will be on your own following the reception.
5:30-7:30 pm

Sunday, 8 December 2019

CSSP Committee Meetings - Morning
Participants will meet with two different committees – one in the morning, one in the afternoon.
  • Government and Public Affairs
  • Scholarly Publications and Data
  • Science
8:00-9:00 am
Session Two: Developing the Pipeline of Scientific Leaders 9:15 am-12:15 pm
Industry and Government Scientist panelists.
NANCY S. SUNG - Science Advisor, Directorate for Biological Sciences, National Science Foundation
ERIN JONES - Head of Sustainability and Outreach, Bayer Crop Science (Industry)
9:15-10:30 am
Break 10:30 -11:00 am
Coaching Skills for Mentoring the Next Generation of Science Leaders
BETH TRACY - Senior Director for Faculty Development, Rutgers University
11:00 am -12:15 pm
Lunch (Othmer Hall) 12:15-1:15 pm
Session Three: Frontiers of Science 1:15-4:45 pm
GABOR J. TIGYI - Professor of Physiology and Chemistry, University of Memphis "A drug that can save humankind - but should never be used." 1:15-2:15 pm
PAUL F. SOUTH - Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Louisiana State University "Engineering alternative plant metabolism to improve crop productivity." 2:15-3:15 pm
Break 3:15-3:45 pm
CSSP Committee Meetings - Afternoon
Participants will meet with two different committees – one in the morning, one in the afternoon.
  • Association Best Practices & Ethics (combined)
  • STEM Education
3:45-4:45 pm
Banquet at Logan Tavern
(Included with registration)

Logan Tavern is located at P Street NW
6:30-9:00 pm

Monday, 9 December 2019

Session Four: Society Best Practices - Revenue, Policy, Advocacy and Collaboration 8:30 am-2:30 pm
Revenue Diversification and its Growing Importance and Trends
Senior Vice President Industry Relations, McKinley Advisors
8:30-9:45 am
Advocacy (It's all about Relationships!) and The Day One Project - A bipartisan project to frame, develop and discuss key opportunities for action on policy for the 2021 administration
Day One Project Lead, Federation of American Scientists (FAS)
Science Policy Manager, American Society of Agronomy
JULIE McCLURE -Science Policy Manager, American Society of Agronomy

Break - there will be a 15 minute break during this session

9:45 am -12:30 pm
Lunch 12:30 -1:30 pm
KELVIN DROEGEMEIER - Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
The importance of engaging upcoming scientific leaders, and the goal of bringing generations of scientists together
1:30 - 2:00 pm
Break 2:00-2:15 pm
Business Meeting
Election of new Board members and officers
2:15 -2:45 pm
The unification of science, engineering and the workforce as a strong voice for advocacy
AIMEE HOOD - Regulatory Science Communications Lead, Bayer Crop Science
BRYANNE PETERSON- Research Assistant Professor of SEAD Education Assessment & Evaluation, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.
2:45-4:00 pm
Committee Reports & Calls for Action 4:00-5:30 pm
Dinner on Your Own 6:00 pm

Tuesday, 10 December 2019

Congressional Breakfast
Speaker & Sponsor - Senator Angus King (ME)

Award presentation: Senator Susan Collins (ME) will be presented the CSSP Support of Science Award

8:00-10:30 am
8:30 - 9:00 am
10:00 am
CSSP Board of Directors Meeting 10:30 am-11:30 pm
Visits to Capitol Hill
Visits Arranged Individually by CSSP Staff or Your University Government Liaison, as Requested in advance
Tuesday afternoon